The NoHu International Short Film Festival is dedicated to screening the best short films and independent feature films from around the world.

Sunday, November 8, 2015

NoHu 2015 Closing Night

The closing night of the 8th Annual NoHu International Short Film Festival took place on Thursday, October 22, 2015 with an elegant Red Carpet filled with Hudson County’s elite filmmakers and artists, followed by fun-filled cocktail party and ceremony.  The event featured live music by The James Austin Trio and Banjoist Danielle Reid.  Highlights of the evening included special Guest Speaker renowned Writer/Director Dan Goggin, who received the “Key to the City” by Mayor & State Senator Brian P. Stack and his Board of Commissioners.  The “Key to the City” is the highest honor given by the City of Union City.   Also addressing the packed house were Broadway and TV producers Melissa Pinsly & Franklin Zitter; and music producer and owner of Water Music, Rob Grenoble. 

The Winners of the 8th Annual NoHu International Short Film Festival. From left to right: David Giardina ("Over The River" Honorable Mention); Maria Pia for Mimmo Mancini ("U Su'" First Place); Jay Gonzalez for Aaron Peck ("The Glove" Third Place);  Julius B. Kelly ("PLOY" Audience Choice Award); and Alex Rask ("Time Square" Second Place). Congratulations to each and everyone of you.

Special Honored Guest, Dan Goggin receiving the "Key to the City" from 
Mayor & State Senator Brian P. Stack and Board of Commissioners. 

About Dan's illustrious career:
DAN GOGGIN (Writer/Director) came to New York from Alma, Michigan to study as a classical countertenor. He began his professional career singing in the Tony award-winning Broadway production of “Luther” starring Albert Finney. While appearing in a comic folk-duo called “The Saxons” he began writing. This led to scores for the off-Broadway musical, Hark! (in which he also appeared) , the Broadway production of Legend and two revues.

Goggin received the 1986 Outer Critics’ Circle Awards given to Nunsense for Best Musical, Best Book, and Best Music. His “nunless” musical Balancing Act has toured the U.S. and played in London and Australia. Nunsense and Nunsense 2: The Second Coming, both starring Rue McClanahan have been recorded for the A&E Television Network. Nunsense 3: The Jamboree toured the U.S. starring Georgia Engel and has been recorded for television at the Grand Ole Opry starring Vicki Lawrence. Nunsense A-Men! opened at the 47th Street Theatre in New York in June 1998 and has since been produced with “Laugh-In’s” Arte Johnson, impressionist Frank Gorshin, and Olympic Champion Greg Louganis. Nuncrackers: The Nunsense Christmas Musical premiered in October 1998, followed by a national tour starring Dody Goodman, Jeff Trachta and Dawn Wells.

The Nuncrackers television special playing on the PBS network starring Rue McClanahan with guest star John Ritter, received and Emmy nomination for Best Musical Score. Meshuggah-Nuns: The Ecumenical Nunsense premiered in September 2002 and is currently out on DVD. The All-Star touring production of Nunsense featuring Kaye Ballard, Georgia Engel, Mimi Hines, Darlene Love and Lee Meriwether marked the 20th anniversary of the original show. In 2004 Dan’s “serious piece” The Traditional Latin Mass was recorded by cast members and friends.

In 2005 Nunsensations: The Nunsense Vegas Revue premiered and in 2008, there was a national tour starring Sally Struthers. Last year Sister Robert Anne’s Cabaret Class (A one-nun musical) and Nunset Boulevard: The Nunsense Hollywood Bowl Show opened. Most recently, the original Nunsense celebrated it's 30th Anniversary at the Saint Louis Muny featuring a cast of 50 nuns, 10 Broadway stars, and 19 children. www.nunsense.com

Guest Speakers at the 8th Annual NoHu International Short Film Festival Awards Ceremony, Franklin Zitter and Melissa Pinsly addressing an attentive audience of filmmakers and artists. 

About: Franklin & Melissa:
Frankenmel founders Melissa Pinsly & Franklin Zitter were previously executive producers for director Ira Sachs’ latest film Thank You For Being Honest starring Greg Kinnear, Jennifer Ehle, Alfred Molina, Marisa Tomei, and Paulina Garcia. Prior to this Melissa was an Associate Producer for Ira Sachs’ film Love is Strange and is a Tony award nominated Broadway producer. Franklin was previously Head of Production/Senior Producer for FlickerLab, an animation, design, and production studio based in NYC who’s clients included A&E Networks, AMC, Barnes & Noble Digital, Cartoon Network, Comedy Central, The Colbert Report, HBO, Michael Moore, Nickelodeon, and more.

Special Guest Speaker Rob Grenoble of Water Music 

About Rob Grenoble:
Rob Grenoble was signed to RCA Records as an artist and to BMG Music Publishing as a songwriter. He worked with producers Michael Barbiero (Guns N' Roses, Metallica, John Lennon & Yoko Ono), Scott Litt (REM, Indigo Girls) and Peter Coleman (Pat Benetar, Blondie). In 1982, Rob and his bandmates built the first Water Music. Since then Rob has worked with Beyoncé, Shakira, Allman Brothers Band, Dave Matthews Band, Esperanza Spalding and many others. The studio has won multiple Grammys, an Emmy and other awards. This year Water Music set a new record for consecutive #1 singles on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Song Chart with the Pretty Reckless.

Award Recipients 
8th Annual NoHu International Short Film Festival

U Su’
a film by Mimmo Mancini
Best Film

Time Square
a film by Alex Rask
Second Place

The Glove
a film by Aaron Peck
Third Place

Over The River
a film by David Giardina
Honorable Mention

Alex Rask
Best Director “Time Square”

Alex Rask
Best Screenplay “Time Square”

Mimmo Mancini
Best Actor “U Su’”

Ashley Kern
Best Actress “Time Square”

Jim Thalman
Best Supporting Actor “PLOY”

Jessica Silvestre
Best Supporting Actress “Nails”

Alex Rask
Best Special Effects “Time Square”

Audience Choice Award

Special Feature Film Awards:

Lukas Hassel
for Outstanding Performance 
by an Actor in a Leading Role
in the Feature Film “In Sickness”

Judy San Roman
Outstanding Work
as Executive Producer
on the Feature Film “In Sickness”

Certificate of Appreciation
Director, Producers, & Actors of the feature film "La Academia"


Judges of the 8th Annual NoHu International Short Film Festival: Mauro De Trizio, Raul Barcelona, Frank Bernal, Saulo Diaz, Gerard Karabin, and Ricardo Aguirre. 

A special Thank You to all those who contributed to the success of the 8th Annual NoHu International Short Film Festival.

Thank you to Mayor & State Senator Brian P. Stack, Commissioners Tilo Rivas, Maryury Martinetti, and Celin Valdivia, Amado Mora, Frank Bernal, Nelson Lorenzo Galvez, Gerard Karabin, Ricardo Aguirre, Raul Barcelona, Saulo Diaz, Mauro De Trizio David Alicea, Felix Alfonso; my good friends at La Havana 59, Manuel Suarez and Edwin Ordoñes, Dan Goggin, Franklin Zitter, Melissa Pinsly, Rob Grenoble, Will Photo, La Revista Semanal, Julio Reynoso and Hudson County TV, Patricia Escobar, George Cedeño,  Alex Rask, Jonathan Fritz, Liliana Barrera, and most importantly each and every filmmaker who submitted and participated.